Forgot your password?

Home  /  Awards
Click to learn more

2016 Recipients for Excellence in Teaching

Teachers awarded for their exceptional projects in Canadian history

Click to learn more

2016: Maison Saint-Gabriel

2016 Recipient for "Le cheval Canadien, une race à part"

Click to read more

2016: Merna Forster

2016 Recipient of the Pierre Berton Award

Click to learn more

Centre d'archives de Vaudreuil-Soulanges

2016 Recipient for "Les yeux d'hier et d'aujourd'hui"

Click to learn more

The Reach Gallery Museum

2016 Recipient for "Voices of the Valley"

Click to learn more

Robert C. H. Sweeny

2016 Recipient of the Sir John A. Macdonald Prize

2016 Governor General’s History Awards Announced!

The Governor General’s History Awards are Canada’s top honours in the field of history and heritage. They celebrate the very best in Canadian achievements to ensure our national past has a vibrant presence in our society today.

Teachers and community groups are among those who will be honoured next month for their exemplary efforts to promote Canadian history and make our past relevant.

The 2016 Governor General’s History Awards will be presented in Ottawa on November 28, marking the 20th year of celebrating the excellence of Canada’s top “history makers.”

His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, will present awards to winners in five categories:

Three other prizes will be presented at the ceremony highlighting exceptional work:

Support history Right Now! Donate
© Canada's History 2016
Feedback Analytics